Cesar Kennedy Manumits His Family (Madison Co.)

Below is an extract from the Acts of Alabama, 1818 to 1828, found online.  This is one of many Acts pertaining to people of color that will be posted on this blog. The original documents are at the Alabama Department of Archives and History in Montgomery, AL. 

 

An act to authorize Cesar Kennedy to manumit certain of his slaves therein named. 

Session: Annual Session, Oct-Dec 1819

Page: 145 

 

Section 1. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the State of Alabama, in General Assembly convened, That Cesar Kennedy, a free man of colour, of the town of Huntsville, and county of Madison, be, and he is hereby authorized to manumit and set free his wife Hannah, and her seven children, Maria, John, Mary-Ann, William, Cesar, Rossell, and Thomas, as soon as the said Cesar Kennedy shall have executed to the chief justice or chairman of the county court of Madison county, and his successors in office, a bond with sufficient security, to be approved by said court, conditioned, that the said slaves, Hannah and her seven children, Maria, John, Mary-Ann, William, Cesar, Rossell, and Thomas, shall never become chargeable to the State of Alabama, or any county or town therein.

(Signed)


JAMES DELLET Speaker of the House of Representatives
THOMAS BIBB President of the SenateApproved-December 13, 1819

(Signed)

WM. W. BIBB

11 Comments »

  1. cars said

    Are you feeling like you do not have the car you deserve?

    This is because the salesman is trying to get a great commission out of
    you. Don’t treat a salesperson like a friend. Continue reading for some valuable tips and information.

  2. I will right away grasp your rss as I can’t in finding your e-mail subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Please allow me know in order that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  3. I blog often and I truly appreciate your information. This article has truly
    peaked my interest. I’m going to take a note of your blog and keep checking for new details about once per week. I opted in for your RSS feed too.

  4. Touche. Great arguments. Keep up the great
    effort.

  5. I was more than happy to uncover this site. I need to to thank you for
    ones time due to this wonderful read!! I definitely savored every part
    of it and i also have you saved as a favorite to check
    out new stuff in your blog.

  6. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest
    but your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later on. All the best

  7. What’s up colleagues, its enormous post regarding tutoringand fully defined, keep it up all the time.

  8. Hello! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d
    ask. Would you be interested in trading links or maybe
    guest writing a blog article or vice-versa? My site addresses a
    lot of the same subjects as yours and I believe we could
    greatly benefit from each other. If you’re interested feel free to shoot me an email. I look forward to hearing from you! Superb blog by the way!

  9. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of the posts I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyhow, I’m certainly delighted I stumbled upon it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back frequently!

  10. It’s an remarkable paragraph in support of all the internet people; they will take advantage from it I am sure.

  11. Maddison said

    Wow! After all I got a webpage from where I know how to actually obtain useful information regarding
    my study and knowledge.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

